San Lorenzo Museum

Via XI Febbraio, 98


Thispurely religious  museum  was built in 1985 in the house of the ex "Giudicatura", that has been bought by the parish in 1963 to put back the sacred furnish. It was restored between 1980 and 1985, brought to its original structure and destinated to hold the collection of the future museum.
The exposed material , paintings and sculptures, liturgic furnish, devotional objects, were donated by Zogno's parish and by Don Giulio Gabanelli's, the priest of S. Lorenzo, has been the primary author of this museum full of charm and suggestion.
The material is distributed on the three floors of the building and part of it It's ordinated in showcases, following religious thematic that show Christ's Redemption celebrated by the Church during the liturgy, the celebration of Christ during the sacraments, during the Rosario's Devotion and during the rebirth of the christian.
The itinerary starts from the plan of entry with prehistoric solar idol that testifies how the man has always looked at the sky to search a "Light" that lights his existence.
In this room, along with frescos from the V - VI century and others sculptures, we can see four big thematic showcases supported by explantory labels and a long glass showcase with examples of ancient precious ends.
In the first showcase showcase, through the wooden sculpture  (realized in 1600) of  the "Kid", the eighteenth-century "ostensorio" made by silver and the frame carved with the "Divine Lamb", we can see the physical presence, the mystical presence during the Eucarestia and the cosmic triumph of Christ.
The second showcase it's dedicated to the saints founders of the "Lombarda" church: S. Ambrogio, S. Agostino, S. Narno and S. Carlo Borromeo. The saints' relics are conserved in four silvered brass busts.
In the third showcase wooden and polychrome sculptures realized in 1300 and 1400 illustrate the story of the "Calvario". The step ends in front of a showcase that represents the "Big Mass" of S. Lorenzo ( Zogno's patron), recalled with sumptuous red-velvet hangings, embroidered in gold, silver and polychrome silk. The furnish for the celebration are located around the room and on the background there is the ancient banner of the brotherhood.
On the upstairs we can find the theme of Santo Viatico, the theme of the devotion to the Madonna del Rosario and the theme about the funeral Mass. In the first showcase figures and symbolic objects recall the procession of Santo Viatico, how It was brought, it he past, to the sick and dying. At the centre of the second showcase the fifteen sixteenth-century circles of the mysteries serve as frame to an ancient wooden statue of "Madonna col Bambino".
We can see precious and liturgic hangings in the next showcase, with the eighteenth-century bandelles of the parish canopy used for processions of the "Corpus Domini". The black colour of the mourning dominates in the showcase dedicated to the solemn Mass of the funeral: at the centre, the figure of the Risen Christ inspires the hope in the eternal life.
Of particoular interest vestments of black silk embroidered in silver from cloistered nuns of Zogno, on Luigi Angelini's  drawing in a long centrale notice board are exposed antique objects for the Mass' celebration.
It deserves a particular attention for the collection of molten bells between 1500 and 1800, exposed to be rung. The oldest dates back to 1525, work of the founder Giovanni Anselmi of Serina.
Too interesting is also the mechanism of a tower?s clock, dated 1756, work of Gritti's family of Miragolo (Zogno's district) , we go down at downstairs , where you can see two big central showcases and many small glass cases long the walls.
In those of ones that are big, are exposed ancient copes in silk and brocade richly worked, painted wooden sculptures of the 16th century made in Lombardy, silver lamps, three wonderful almoner. The lateral notice boards collect small objects linked to the daily devotion and domestic of faithful: cards, scapulars, medals, crucifixes, small holy water fonts and rosaries. A pipe organ of 1686, from a chapel of the territory, completes the tour on this floor: restored recently, It still feels its harmonies.
Between the different petition paintings , we recommend as particularly interesting:
- "Pietà" by Giovan Paolo Cavagna
- "Presentazione di Maria Vergine al Tempio" by Palma il Giovane (1544-1628)
- "S. Lorenzo" by a turn of the century unknow author
- "Gesù deriso e flagellato" by Pietro Muttoni called "Vecchia" (1605-1678)
In lecture room "Priula":
- "Madonna e Santi" attributed to Palma il Vecchio (1480-1528)
- "Martirio di S.Stefano" by Carlo Ceresa (1609-1679)
- "Cristo Deposto" by an unknow author from the XVII century.


Entry: Reservation only