The laying of the foundation stone is dated July 15, 1479. The church is dedicated to the Annunciation of the B.V. Mary, the Ascension of Jesus and Blessed Stephen the protomartyr. The present title retains the dedication of the Annunciation, while the title of the Ascension has come to denote the entire hamlet. The church was declared a parish church in 1493 by Pope Alexander VI. In the 16th and 17th centuries it was included in the parish of Dossena and was visited by St. Charles Borromeo and later by St. Gregory Barbarigo, who described its altars and active confraternities. In 1781 it was still equipped with five altars and governed by a mercenary curate with chaplain. In 1870, no longer adequate for the needs of the community, it was decided to build a new parish church, consecrated in 1884 and dedicated to Blessed Mary of the Annunciation. The old building, which became a subsidiary, underwent demolition in 1890 and restoration between the 20th and 21st centuries.
Built entirely of stone, it consists of an apse, two bays (the third was demolished in 1890), a small sacristy, and a bell tower that has the distinction of housing an entirely wooden castle, including wheels, with 3 bells. 3 funeral stones stand out on the terracotta floor; the roof is trussed. The pulpit is leaning against the left wall. The pictorial cycle covering a span of several centuries, beginning in the last years of the 400s, is interesting. Outside, beside the only entrance, stands a large St. Christopher with child.